Welcome to Sniffing the Past, a brand new blog that sets out to explore human-canine histories.

My name is Chris Pearson. I’m a historian of modern French history working at the University of Warwick (UK) where I’ve just begun work on a research project entitled ‘Canine City: Dogs, Humans, and the Making of Modern Paris.’ This aims to explore the role of dogs in the city’s history as workers, pests, pets and all points in between.

I plan to use this blog to present vignettes from my ‘Canine City’ research and to explore human-canine history more generally. Future posts will include features on canine urban histories and geographies, brief biographies of ‘notable’ dogs, book reviews, reflections on doing animal history, and anything else I come across. I will do my best to limit my use of dog-related puns.